Contact Us

Roger Waters Unveils Track Listing for New Album, ‘Is This The Life We Really Want?’

Roger Waters
Taylor Hill, Getty Images

Roger Waters has been teasing bits and pieces of his upcoming album since the beginning of the year. He’s now revealed the track listing for the new LP, Is This The Life We Really Want? 

The album contains 12 cuts, starting with “When We Were Young” and including the songs “The Last Refugee” and the title track, before concluding with “Part of Me Died.” You can see the entire track listing below.

Is This The Life We Really Want?, Waters’ first studio album in 25 years, will be released on June 2. Over the past few months, he’s offered snippets of the record online and, last month, in a 30-second teaser video.

A new press release (via Rolling Stone) says the album is about “unflinching commentary on the modern world and uncertain times.” Radiohead and Paul McCartney producer Nigel Godrich worked closely with Waters on the project, even help steering its direction at one point.

Godrich, who is credited with arrangements on the LP, also performed sound collages, keyboards and guitar. Is This The Life We Really Want? also includes Gus Seyffert (on bass, guitar and keyboards), Jonathan Wilson (guitar, keyboards), Joey Waronker (drums), Roger Mannning (keyboards), Lee Pardini (keyboards) and Lucius (vocals) with Jessica Wolfe and Holly Proctor.

Not much else is known about the album other than it will continue Waters’ line of concept records and that it started life as a radio play and is partly influenced by the Trump administration. Waters’ last album, 1992’s Amused to Death, was also a politically themed record, a look at the First Gulf War.

The new album’s release will be preceded by the launch of a new tour, the Us + Them North American Tour, which kicks off on May 26 in Kansas City and wraps up on Oct. 28 in Vancouver. Waters will play more than 50 dates during the run.

Roger Waters, ‘Is This The Life We Really Want?’ Track Listing
1. “When We Were Young”
2. “Déjà Vu”
3. “The Last Refugee”
4. “Picture That”
5. “Broken Bones”
6. “Is This the Life We Really Want?”
7. “Bird in a Gale”
8. “The Most Beautiful Girl”
9. “Smell the Roses”
10. “Wait for Her”
11. “Oceans Apart”
12. “Part of Me Died”

 Pink Floyd Albums Ranked Worst to Best

Next: Top 10 Roger Waters Solo Songs

Best of Eagle 102

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for EAGLE 102.3 VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive EAGLE 102 VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.